Overcome Your Fears
I do not think there are many days that go by and I do not see a post from one of my 1500 Facebook friends threatening to delete people who send them requests to play certain games. For most of us, you are either a Facebook gamer or you are not. For those of us who are not, it does get a little aggravating to see notifications from Farmville, Cityville and all the numerous casinos games, just to name a few. Instead of ranting, raving and getting all annoyed with the numerous requests, there is an easier way to try and solve the problem by blocking game app requests from certain games and/or certain individuals.
First, there are two places that you can see what game app requests have been sent to you other than your notifications. Normally those two places are in your bottom left sidebar and your top right as seen in the image.
If you are anything like me, I ignore them when they pop up in my notifications but go back and try to clean them up later. Also, when you access the notification you receive, it normally takes you to the app permissions page and you do not want that.
Once you click on one of the two links, you will be taken to a page where all your app requests are. The games are usually first, bu on this screen you will see what request was sent to you and from whom. When you hover over one of the requests, it will turn blue and and x will appear in the upper right hand corner of the blue area. You then want to click on that x.
Once you click on the x, the request is hidden. Facebook also gives you the option of blocking that application or ignoring all requests from that user. If this is a friend that you know is always sending your requests for random games, you might want to choose the later option. Blocking the game application means that you will no longer receive requests from anyone for that particular game.
Once that is done, you will see a pop up to confirm the action you just performed. In this example, I blocked a game app. Click okay.
And that, ladies and gentlemen is it! This is the last thing you will see confirming what you just did.
Easy huh? I hope this helps to save some friendships and sanity on Facebook.
Still have questions? Feel free to ask away in the comments.
Meet the Editor – Belinda Harris